Precious and Positive

15 Apr

Why name this blog Precious and Positive?

These were the words I thought of when I thought of my sweet child that we recently adopted.  She is absolutely precious and she just happens to be HIV positive.

I thought it would be nice to have a place where I and other families blessed with HIV positive children could share some about our lives with our HIV children.  A blog where we can share about what lead us to our child and some of the ups and downs we have experienced since. 

I hope to share some about our decision to keep our daughter’s HIV status private and I hope others share about their experience with disclosing to others.

I also hope to post some practical info about medicine costs, insurance, HIV clinics, etc.. and I hope others will post any new information they learn along the way.

I am by no means an expert on HIV adoptions.  I am just a mother of three (one being HIV positive) who would love to shout from a mountain top about this precious HIV positive child God has blessed us with and has given us the privilege to raise.  HIV adoption is something I would have never thought I would do or could do and now CAN’T imagine my life without this child or hers without us.

I hope others will be encouraged to consider adopting a child if they happen to have HIV too. 

Maybe this blog can help others get over all the fears people think about when considering a HIV adoption or maybe it could help more people understand about HIV and our precious children, and just maybe someday I won’t feel like I have to be so private about her condition.

I can always hope. I can always pray.

4 Responses to “Precious and Positive”

  1. positivelyorphaned April 17, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    Great blog. Thanks for sharing your story to how you find your little girl. I’ll be following along. I also blog about children with HIV at http://www.PostivelyOrphaned.org. There are 50+ blogs listed there of families raising positive children, all were adopted. I’ll add this blog to the list. There was another anonymous joint blog started a while back http://positivefamilies.blogspot.com/ but it isn’t very active. Anyway, just wanted to say hi and encourage you. Congrats on your little ones.

  2. julee feser April 20, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Happy to find this blog (saw you post about it via a yahoo group) Hey…I was in Addis in Jan 2010 picking up our toddler who was at AHOPE. Mine is a boy though. We have one child with HIV but most all our kids are technically considered special needs though only a few require tons of extra special care. We have found so far that handling the HIV stuff is pretty easy. Thank you for getting this blog started as it is always wonderful to have as many resources as possible! I have a blog too which is sorely outdated. I stepped back from blogging for awhile but am starting back up this week!
    Julee
    mommy to many
    including those born in U.S., China, Ethiopia, South Africa, and Vietnam

  3. Tella Grathouse April 25, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    Hi,
    My name is tella and i am so amazed by you courage to adopt an HIV+ child. My parents are currently adopting from ethiopia but they were very nervous about adopting an HIV+ child. Mosty because they dont really know much about it and they worry about one of us contracting it. I have done alot of reasearch on it and i honestly dont think it would be a big deal when delt with properly. Im sure you could tell me more accurate info about it since you have a child with HIV. Is it true you can eat and drink after an HIV+ person and not contract it? How do you deal with a sore or cut that is bleeding esp. if you or your other children have an open wounde? I personally am very open to adopting a HIV+ child someday but I really need to get first hand advice from someone who is actually dealing with it rather than from a random website. If you have any other info or thoughts please share, I would love to learn more so later on I will not be making the decision blindly. Thankyou for starting this blog im sure it will provide me with much info and advice.

    • Kay April 28, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

      Tella- Please keep checking back and reading our blog. Hopefully we will answer all your questions about HIV children. I think it is great that God has given you a heart for HIV orphans, and it is exciting that you will soon have a new brother or sister from Ethiopia. How fun!

Leave a Reply

