It’s Not About You

26 Apr

When I look in the rearview mirror, I realize that the biggest risks were the greatest opportunities. Those were the moments that I came alive. Those were the moments when God set the stage and changed the trajectory of my life.

A year ago we didn’t set out to adopt an HIV positive child.  We were only thinking HEALTHY INFANT.  I didn’t want to deal with any “issues”, so I figured this was the safest route.  When our family was getting shots at Public Health for our trip to Ethiopia, the nurse said, “If you get referred an HIV child, don’t worry about it, I’ll help you get through it.”  I thought that was an odd comment, but it stuck with me.  Shortly after we had sent our dossier to Ethiopia I ran across the cutest little sisters on the Waiting Child List.  The older sister was HIV positive.  I felt like these girls could possibly be for us, but there were a few things that didn’t match up with MY PLANS.  They weren’t infants, one had a disease, and there were two of them!  His ways are higher than our ways and his plans are not our plans.  I went back to the core reasons why I set out on this adoption journey to begin with.  I knew I wanted to LIVE out the gospel for my children to see.  And I remembered that THIS WASN’T ABOUT ME! 

I talked to three families who had adopted HIV positive kids, including a pediatrician and pharmacist.  They all said basically the same thing.  It’s a managable disease and HIV was the least of their concerns.  I’m so thankful that they were a resource and source of encouragement for me.  Our newly adopted girls are a total joy for our family!!  HIV is not something I think about on a daily basis because our daughter does not require medication at this time.

I’m so grateful that I didn’t miss this opportunity to adopt these precious girls.  I’m thankful that I didn’t let fear steal my joy.  And I admire all you mothers who LIVE out the gospel everyday with courage and calling.

Leave a Reply

