Turning 3 and Home Therapy

13 Nov

Our sweet little one has turned three.    At age three, children in our state’s early intervention program transition from at home therapies to school programs.  When we started therapy many months ago, I knew by three we would not be ready to  not put our daughter in a school program, and so I asked the therapists  to please train me to be prepared to take over therapy.   They were happy to educate me.  Their program is designed to train the parents and yet they said most parents just want them to come in and do therapy with their child.

We are not chosing the school system (for now) for several reasons.  For one thing we are a homeschooling family, and I think dropping one child off at our local school would be difficult and confusing for our other children.  Secondly, our daughter continues to work through some sensory issues and sometimes experiences  anxiety away from home and her routine.  Thirdly, I really believe parents can make the biggest impact by integrating the therapy techniques into everyday life.   Fourthly, we have issues with disclosing about her HIV to our local school system.  I know we would not have to disclose, but still struggle with when to tell.

So, I bought two books to help me as I continue to help our daughter improve with “at home” therapy.  One book is It Takes Two to Talk, A Practical Guide for Parents of Children with Language Delays by Jan Pepper and Elaine Weitzman.  This book was recommended by my speak pathologist, and I have really like it.   But it was very expensive.  It sells on Amazon but I bought it a little cheaper off of Ebay. 

The other book I bought was The Out-of-Sync Child Has Fun, Activities for Kids with Sensory Processing Disorder by Carol Stock Kranowitz, M.A.  I check out this book first from the library along with The Out-of-Sync Child and Sensational Kids.    These other sensory books were very detailed about sensory issues and were just too technical for me.  However, I thought the Out-of-Sync Child Has Fun, was full of great activities and helpful basic summaries of various sensory problems.  My other children have enjoyed the activities too.

So while I was sad to say good-bye to our nice therapists, I am looking forward to continuing on our own.  I feel prepared and will reassess whether this is the best thing for her in 6 months.   All our therapists knew about our daughter’s HIV.  I chose to disclose to them.  It was a definite first for all three of them.  At our first meeting, I shared with them basic information about HIV (I joked and said in case you are stuck in the 80’s about HIV like I was before educating myself).  They all listened, had a few questions, but they were all so sweet and kind to our daughter.    I hope that all three therapist walk away from their time with our daughter being a little more educated about HIV.

Leave a Reply

